Program Chairs


Dr. C. Mohan (IBM Almaden Research Center, San Jose, USA)

Prof. Jiaguang Sun (Tsinghua University, Beijing, China)


Expected Attendees


We intend to invite 10 distinguished database system research scientists from across the world, 7 professors from top database research groups in China and government leaders from Ministry of Science and Technology, Ministry of Industry and Information Technology, National Natural Science Foundation of China for the inner circle discussion. Also, these 10 scientists will be invited to give public talks and take part in a panel discussion for the benefit of a broader audience, including graduate students and professors from local universities, and database administrators, IT Architects and application developers from Chinese industry.


List of Invitees (Worldwide)


Ashraf Aboulnaga (QCRI, Qatar)

Gustavo Alonso (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)

H.V. Jagadish (University of Michigan, USA)

Sharad Mehrotra (UC Irvine, USA)

Beng Chin Ooi (NUS, Singapore)

Tamer Ozsu (University of Waterloo, Canada)

Christopher Re (Stanford University, USA)

Yunyao Li (IBM Almaden Research Center, USA)

Amr El Abbadi (UC Santa Barbara, USA)

Paul Larson (Microsoft Research, USA)


List of Invitees (China)


Wei Chen (Director, Bureau of Software and IT Service, Ministry of Industry & Information Technology)

Zhiyuan Ji (Director, Bureau of High Tech, Ministry of Science & Technology)

Zhaotian Zhang (Director, Information Technology Division, NSF China)

Jianzhong Li (Harbin Institute of Technology, China)

Xiaoyong Du (Renmin University, China)

Zhanhuai Li (Northwest University of Technology, China)

Lizhu Zhou (Tsinghua University, China)

Xiaoming Li (Peking University, China)

Guoren Wang (Northeast University, China)

Xiaoyang Wang (Fudan University, China)


Short Biodata of Program Chairs


Dr. C. Mohan has been an IBM researcher for 32 years in the information management area, impacting numerous IBM and non-IBM products, the research and academic communities, and standards, especially with his invention of the ARIES family of locking and recovery algorithms, and the Presumed Abort commit protocol. This IBM, ACM and IEEE Fellow has also served as the IBM India Chief Scientist. In addition to receiving the ACM SIGMOD Innovation Award, the VLDB 10 Year Best Paper Award and numerous IBM awards, he has been elected to the US and Indian National Academies of Engineering, and has been named an IBM Master Inventor. This distinguished alumnus of IIT Madras received his PhD at the University of Texas at Austin. He is an inventor of 40 patents. He has served on the advisory board of IEEE Spectrum and on the IBM Software Group Architecture Board’s Council. Mohan is a frequent speaker in North America, Western Europe and India, and has given talks in 40 countries. More information can be found in his home page at


Prof. Jiaguang Sun is an expert in the Software and Application area. He was born in Zhenjiang, JiangSu Province in January 1946. He earned his B.S. degree from the Automation Department of Tsinghua University in 1970. He is now the Dean of School of IST (Information Science & Technology) and Dean of the School of Software in Tsinghua University. Prof. Sun is also Deputy Director of Academic Affairs Committee of Tsinghua University, a member of the Academic Degree Committee and the Disciplinary Appraisal Panels of the State Council, Deputy Director of TSCCST (Teaching Supervision Committee for Computer Science & Technology) and Director of TSCSE (Teaching Supervision Committee for Software Engineering) of MOE (Ministry of  Education), P.R.China. Prof. Sun serves as Director of National Engineering Research Center of CAD Supporting Software, Director of Tsinghua National Laboratory for IST (Information Science & Technology), President of Executive Council of China Engineering Graphics Society. In 1999, Prof. Sun was elected as a member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering. He is the former vice chairman of NSFC (Natural Science Foundation of China).


Contact People


Jianmin Wang

School of Software, Tsinghua University, China


Chen Wang

IBM Research, China